Nitrous Oxide Installation | Tuning | Products
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Over heating after nitous run!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2005, 10:15 PM
TECH Addict

Location: sojourning....looking for my city whose builder and maker is God.
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Over heating after nitous run!!

Last Thurs night I made 5 runs down our local 1/8 mile track. The first two were all motor, the last 3 runs I spayed a TNT 100 shot.
The first spray run I engaged at about half track.
Second run I engaged just past the 60' mark.
And the last run I engaged at the line but used a 5200 rpm pill that allowed me to get close to the 60' mark when it engaged.

The first 4 runs were a little hotter than the car has run in the past, around 200 degrees. But I didn't think a whole lot about it since the weather was pretty hot at about 87 degrees. I have a 160 degree thermostat and have my fans coming on pretty low. The car has been running around 195 to 200 lately on the street and it before I changed out my heads a few weeks ago it would run closer to 180 degrees all the time.

After the last run (my best BTW at 7.26 ET @97 mph) my check gages light came on the thermostat was reading almost all the way to the right close to 280 degrees. I quickly shut her down and waited for it to cool, checked the coolant and it was down added about a quart and a half water to it.