Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Solenoid Testing / Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2006, 12:36 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Solenoid Testing / Rebuild

Probably a stupid question, but since I've never done it before here we go. Is there an FAQ on how to rebuild / check your solenoids? What tools / components do I need? What am I looking for? Thanks!
Old 05-20-2006, 12:53 AM
Restricted User

Hmm...not sure, haven't browesed the FAQ's Sticky.

In short.
You will need to remove the noid from its mounting bracket and unplug wiring.
Remove the nut on top of the noid cover. Set nut aside.
Carefully lift cover off, with it will come the coil (has the two wires attached to it), and a washer at the bottom. Set them aside.
Now, using a snap ring plier, or similar tool, grip the two dimples found on the base of the tower (you will see there are two small dimples, I used a pair of small needle nose pliers for mine, just dont scratch the tower up). Once loosened, carefully unscrew the tower, being ready for the spring loaded piston inside to fall out. Inside the tower is a spring with a piston on it, which is the stopped for flow.
Removing all fittings attached to the noid base, use an airgun to blow out the passages ini the base of the noid. Ensure there is no dirt, tape, or thread sealant inside the noid base clogging the passages.
Replace the piston and spring assembly, reinsert into the tower, screw tower onto noid base, and tighten. Install washer, coil and cover, ensure its on the right side, install nut ontop of noid and tighen.