Northwest Members WA, OR, ID, MT, WY, SD, ND

Great day to tune a car

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2005, 01:56 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Great day to tune a car

Today was the day I finally got to hook up with Ellis and Jim and get some serious tuning done. Earlier in the day I also tinkered around and removed the spoiler. The clean rear end is growing on me.

So, when I finally get to Ellis' place he gets down to business. He's got a great little circuit for tuning. No problem getting some 3rd gear WOT runs. Although the last time we did the circuit Mr. Police officer was right there...so we waited until we were out of sight before planting it.

I'm no car expert, but I could definitely tell with each round of adjustments things got better. The idle cleaned up a good bit. The WOT runs pulled harder and longer. All went well.

Oh, and to top it all off, I smoked an older Mustang GT on the way home.

I can't wait to get it to a dyno and find out just how many ponies I've got now.

BTW, Ellis, it just dawned on me I have a previous commitment next Tuesday(16th), so could we do it the check on Wednesday(17th) instead?
Old 08-10-2005, 07:55 AM
10 Second Club

Cool, I figured there was a lot more in theses cars than the stock tune lets out. I'm going to take our Goat over for a Speed Secrets special soon. Mine should run a lot better after the Groo-master has his way with it. The Torque Management on these A4s is MUCH worse than what is on the F-bodies.

Nice picture in your sig BTW!!! Fuggin Hilarious.....
Old 08-10-2005, 08:21 AM
10 Second Club

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Glad you are happy with it man! Yeah I think we found the power you are looking for At least the numbers say we did You have a very nice car BTW I really liked the wheels

For all of you thinking about a hand held tunner for your LS1 ,STOP! I have yet to look at one in our area that did not run the car so lean the spark plugs looked like a snow storm!