Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

In need of advice!

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2015, 02:22 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 39 Likes on 35 Posts
Default In need of advice!

Hey all,

so a couple of weeks ago, some jack*** in a parking lot hit my car with a shopping cart, and managed to scrape a good chunk of paint off of the passenger corner of my rear bumper. Didn't do any damage to the bumper cover itself though.

So my problem is this: While I would love to repaint the bumper myself, and save some money, I have no experience in automotive painting, and I have no paint booth/place to do a high-quality paint job.

I'm tempted to get some dupli-color spray paint from oreilly's, and some clear, but I've heard of how low quality it is..

So, my question is this: Would rattle-canning it myself look horrible? (The car is black btw, so color matching isn't a major issue) or is the 1k the body shop quoted me worth it?

Thanks (and sorry for the long post)
Old 03-23-2015, 07:19 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Could also buy an aerosol sprayer. Has aerosol can mounted to a glass jar (low cost). Then buy a pint of urethane stock color base coat & a pint of urethane clear. If the scratch goes down to the plastic, use a small amount of filler to bring the scratch level with the rest of the paint & then primer, first.
Old 03-23-2015, 01:34 PM
TECH Fanatic

Considering how thin the paint is I dunno if body filer would be necessary. I think this might be aftermarket bumper. Hers a pic of the damage
Old 03-23-2015, 01:49 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts