Paint & Body Work Custom Painting | Panel Repairs & Replacement

Paint spray gun questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 11:28 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Paint spray gun questions

Well acouple months ago i repainted my engine bay with rattle cans. came out pretty good. but would look alot better with a spray gun. i have never used a spray gun before and wanted to know if i could do this myself or is it hard to paint with a gun?

also what is the smallest air compressor hp wise i could get away with powering the gun?

what are someethings i need to know about doing this? i plan to do it in my garage. with the rattle can i just scuffed up the area's and wiped them down with soapy water.

this time i will sand pretty mush all the paint off and use paint thiner to clean up before painting.
Old 02-09-2008, 12:24 PM
Launching!

First question, what kind of budget are you looking at? An Iwata or Sata can easily run you $400+, or you can get a decent Devilbiss in the low $100's. A tip between 1.3 and 1.5mm is ideal for spraying. The compressor ideally would need to pump 10cfm or more, but for doing small jobs such as an engine bay, a few cfm less would work. 25+ gallons of air will also be required. After you get all that down, then you have to deal with the paint. Mixing ratios, flash times, temperatures. It's a little more involved than most think.
Here's a lower priced Devilbiss which I think would be good for a beginner. http://www.tcpglobal.com/spraygundep...EV+FLG-653G-13 Harborfreight also has cheap guns($20-60), but I'd only use them for primers.
Old 02-09-2008, 12:29 PM
TECH Resident

I guess i would be better off paying someone to do it then. haha thanks
Old 02-09-2008, 07:07 PM
TECH Addict