Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fuel trim & Timing

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2003, 03:14 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel trim & Timing

I have my timing set @ 28 on Edit, on the scan tool I use, it always shows 28.
I added a dual exhaust and went from a SY3500 to a SY4000 and now show 26 at the most. I only show .5 knock retard when I hit it but that goes away (0).
This is a stock internal bolt on car, my LT fuel trim show 8.0 to 8.5 or so at full throttle, I have no codes. Anyone know where my timing went? Someone else is helping w/ edit as I'm just learning. Car is a 98 Z28

JD

Last edited by JASON; 11-17-2003 at 03:20 PM.
Old 11-17-2003, 03:27 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

If you are pulling more air past the MAF, it will see it as
higher load and pull timing back. A looser converter and
catback might both push in this direction. But seeing
those LTFTs at full throttle means you are probably
lean going by MAF output and no telling what the real
WOT mixture is at upper RPM. You should do some more
data logging and be sure you haven't got more KR than
you think.

Timing should never "always show 28". It should run up
with RPM. On my '02 I see 20 down low and don't get
over 28 until it gets past 5500RPM. At WOT, anyway;
lot of variation with load (vacuum) around town.
Old 11-17-2003, 04:21 PM
On The Tree

The air fuel @ WOT was set on a dyno at 12.8, so I know the car is not lean at full throttle. Also I have a true ram air thats been on the car, but the timing went away w/ the true dual and converter. Yes timing is set @ 28 wot.
Old 11-17-2003, 06:05 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

First you need to tune the L-terms back to 0.Then see where the timing is.If it still shows 26 degree's then the MA meter is probly reading a higher load or more airflow due to the mods.Go to the octain table and adjust those tables to 28 degree's of timing.
Old 11-17-2003, 08:53 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by JASON