Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Possible MAF problems...

Old 08-01-2010, 07:43 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possible MAF problems...

Guys,
What kind of symptoms would you expect to see with a bad MAF sensor? I'm chasing a popping in the exhaust at higher rpms and full throttle. Anything less than full throttle will pull cleanly up through the rpm range. Give it full throttle and it starts popping out of the exhaust. The car in question is a '00 SS with a stock 130,000 mi. long block, LTs, ORY, Borla exhaust, SLP MAF, NGK TR55s, MSD wires, and a K & N FIPK. I've replaced the o2s, plugs, and wires. I did check the fuel pressure and, at an idle, it's holding 58 lbs. I haven't checked it at full throttle, however.
I'm new to these cars, so if I'm overlooking something obvious, go easy on me!! Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated!!
Thanks in advance...
Old 08-01-2010, 07:57 PM
9 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

First thing I would do is clean it with some MAF cleaner... oil from the K&N has been known to throw them off. Do you know anyone you can borrow their sensor and see if it goes away? Or get someone to log it and see what the signal is doing...
Old 08-01-2010, 10:27 PM
Staging Lane

Thanks for the reply!
I did try cleaning it with some MAF spray cleaner. I can try to clean it again to see if that would help. I don't know anyone that I could borrow one from. I may be able to get it logged; I'll have to ask a buddy if his diagnostic machine can do this.
Two more stupid questions: Is a Predator capable of logging this, and do you have to re-tune when you replace the MAF?
Old 08-02-2010, 05:25 AM
9 Second Club

Predator can log it, but since it is live data with no graph, it is hard to see what it is doing... If you are replacing a stock MAF with another stock MAF, you do not have to retune.
Old 08-02-2010, 08:13 AM
Staging Lane

OK, thanks for the info.