PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What's the best tuning program/software for me?

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2004, 07:46 AM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What's the best tuning program/software for me?

Sorry about the NOOB question, but I am kind of new to this whole EFI thing (Q-jet guy at heart ). I've been trying to read all the posts to learn, but figured I'd ask the question anyways...

I have a 2002 z28 with some minor mods (lid/cutout/etc) and am looking to get a bigger cam and such at a later time. Right now, I'm limited to 224 and below cams because I have to do the OBDII scan every year

I'd like to get a program or scanner like LS11edit to start learning what my car is doing and possibly make a few tweaks before I get a bigger cam. Ideally, I'd love to know if I can get rid of codes so I could go bigger (say a TR230 or something) I have a laptop and am not worried about spending in the $400 range... just nothing like $2k. TIA
Old 02-01-2004, 09:08 AM
TECH Addict

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Talking

First you will need a scanner program. Most LS1 users use EFILive from www.autotap.com. After that you will need LS1Edit ($550) from www.carputing.com, if you want to make any changes. That is the way I went. I am still learning to use LS1Edit but this forum and others have help a lot.

Good Luck.
BowlingSS
Old 02-01-2004, 09:54 AM
TECH Addict

get ls1edit run any cam you want. But if you wait, theres at least TWO individuals that are making equivalent programs, with hardware to boot right now.

One has promised NO VIN LOCK.

If you think about it, someone violated the DMCA to reverse engineer the GM ECU, so thats why the whole tuning software stuff has to be on the low low... You see the whole SCO/LINUX fiasco? If GM had the inkling to slam carputing into the ground (or anyone else making edit) they could do so fast their heads would spin.