PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

-18% Long Term Fuel Trims at idle.

Old 01-16-2014, 04:13 PM
Staging Lane

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default -18% Long Term Fuel Trims at idle.

I think writing this out will help in the diagnosis process, and I could use some other opinions as well.

The situation: 1950 Chevy truck with:
LQ9/4L80
LS6 cam and springs
Magnacharger MP112 with 1.9" pulley
Five-O injectors - higher flow rate for setup
Mail order tune from reputable tuner.

Engine and trans have been swapped in, and all power-adders have been added since swap. This is my first attempt to run the engine since adding the blower, cam, etc.

I've got a rich idle condition. Fuel trims go to about -18% once the system reaches open loop.
Brand new MAF. Reads about 10-12g/s at idle (idle speed is a little slow due to poor idle condition)
Retorqued header bolts, and no exhaust leaks found.
Injectors ohm'd within spec.
Compression is within range.
O2 sensors appear to be oscillating and heating as they should.
Coolant sensor appears to be operating as it should.
MAP reads approximately 40kpa at idle.
Vacuum is around 8lbs at idle. Haven't been able to detect any leaks.

It's hard to say, but I think the rich condition goes away at higher engine speed, but that needs better testing. Tomorrow I plan to better monitor the fuel trims at 1500 and 2500rpm.

I made an attempt to check for leaking injectors, but the magnacharger fuel rail doesn't clip the injectors in, so they pop out under pressure when removed from the manifold.

My next step is to pull the injector plugs individually while the motor is running and see how the fuel trims respond. Percentage changes in the fuel trims should indicate any leaky injectors.

Any other thoughts or advice would be appreciated.
Old 01-16-2014, 06:36 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 96 Likes on 67 Posts