PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mail Order Tunes?????? LSX POWERTUNING??

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2014, 03:13 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mail Order Tunes?????? LSX POWERTUNING??

So im completely new to v8 period. I went from a fully built forged 2.4L Ka24de in my drift car, sold my setup and im now going to be running a rebuilt bottom end 5.3 LM7 with a built head, twin turbo, and i was considering a tune I seen advertised by LSXPOWERTUNING.

Does anyone have any reviews on their tune quality? I ran a rom tune by Enthalpy a few years ago before I went Megasquirt 2 and it was on point for the most part. Im considering this route again to just get my car going. Was thinking of a power goal between 500-600hp.

5.3 LM7
LS1 Intake Manifold
BTR Dual Valve Springs .660 Lift
Custom Grind 228/236 .540/.540 115lsa
Head Studs
ARP Rod Bolts
Ported LS6 Oil Pump
ls2 Timing Chain
LS7 Lifters
Chromoly Pushrods
Trunion Upgrade
60lb-80lb injectors
Was told running both Maf and Map was good for tuning positive pressure and drivability.
2 .50 A/R T3 Internally Wastegated Turbos

Im what you could consider a noob with LSx engines but im doing countless studying throughout everyday since i began this project.
Any help will do. Thanks
Old 05-07-2014, 08:16 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

I would not trust a mail order tune for anything past bolt ons, and certainly not a cammed boosted car.

Take it to a real tuner that will be able to do the job on the spot, not some guy randomly throwing numbers at such an engine and hoping it will be fine. Don't get me wrong, mail order tuners have their place. Just I would not trust them for such a build where there are so many variables. It's pretty hard to mess up a bolt-on tune, but with a cam and boost it's a whole different animal.
Old 05-08-2014, 06:26 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

^^^^ What more can I say!
Old 05-08-2014, 11:27 PM