Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Opinions on Holley Dominator vs Tuning Stock ECM

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2015, 11:49 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Opinions on Holley Dominator vs Tuning Stock ECM

Well, I'm on my phone and I just typed up a damn novel explaining my situation, then decided to grab a couple pics to reference from my photobucket and my browser decided to refresh my thread and I lost the whole thing, so here's the condensed version:
My hot rod/cruiser project car is coming along quickly and I'm getting closer to having to address the electrical/computer aspects. I have a 1947 Sedan Delivery. I picked up a 2005 5.3 with all the wiring, computer, DBW pedal, etc included. I've got the motor in, along with twin turbos which go to side pipes (why I want dual wideband motioning). Behind the engine I've got a T56 from a GTO and a Ford 8.8. I'm shooting for 650HP. Street driven. I have no tuning experience but I fell I'd be a quick learner with my engineering background and solid grasp of electrical/computers. There are no tuning shops within 500 miles that I'm aware of but I would prefer to do it myself just like I have everything else on the car.
I'm estimating the Holley Dominator will set me back about $3200 with the right harnesses and wideband O2s. That's a **** ton of cash for me and blows my budget out of the water. It adds dual wideband tuning, the ability to switch between tunes which coul be handy for my 4000'+ elevation change drives, and will be more expandable incase I want to do something wilder down the road.
Keeping the stock ECM, and getting a tuning suite I estimate at $2000 with wbo2s, etc.
Is the tuning software as reliable/capable/failsafe as the Dominator, or at least porportionately so compared to the price?
I don't want to jump into either of these and end up regretting it, so I'm looking for input from those with experience.
Thanks.