PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My adventure in to tuning! Tips and tricks before you try it yourself.

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2015, 12:04 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default My adventure in to tuning! Tips and tricks before you try it yourself.

I will predicate this with the following statement:

I am a novice tuner with my only experience coming from using Hptuners on my car. A 2000 Trans AM with the factory PCM. All comments and opinions come from tuning my car. The purpose of this post is to hopefully keep someone getting in to tuning from making the same mistakes as I did.

So my adventure began when I installed a medium sized cam on my SBE LS1. Knowing how often I like to change parts out for bigger and better, I decided I wanted to try and tune my own car and save $$$ doing it. Dyno tunes run 500-600$ in my area, and I was able to pick up a used Hptuners Standard VCM suite for 375$ with 6 credits left on it. I ordered books, read tutorials, browsed forums and watched videos until I thought I was knowledgeable enough to begin.

Mistake #1
Hptuners has a lot of things you can change, and one of the core problems is a lot of those things only have a brief description of what they are. A lot of the discussions online do not really explain what the effect is of changing them. I started tuning things that people said worked for them, without really knowing what it was going to accomplish.

Mistake 2#
A bad combination of parts or mechanical problems will cause you headache after headache. I started tuning my car after the cam install and didn't realize my fuel pump was going weak at WOT. I spent hours trying to get my car to run richer up top and really risked damaging my engine. MAKE SURE YOUR CAR IS IN GOOD MECHANICAL ORDER BEFORE TUNING. After installing a new pump every bit of fuel tuning I did was off. Days of tuning wasted.....

Mistake #3