Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Won't idle on cold start

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2016, 04:15 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Won't idle on cold start

I just picked up an 01 z28, all stock except for a level 2 4l60e and a 3800 stall nitrous converter (installed by prior owner). On a cold start the engine won't idle unless I keep my foot on the gas until the engine warms up.

I installed a known good iac from my brothers 98 z28 and it started up and idled perfect on a cold start. Then I parked it for a few days to fix the water pump, at which point the idle issue returned even with my brothers iac. So I cleaned out my IAC and installed it, everything was great, I parked the car again for a couple of days and then the cold start idle issue returned again. I cleaned the IAC again today, manually pushed the plunger in about an 1/8th inch and there's a slight stumble at startup but it corrects itself and starts to idle fine.

I'm new to these cars so you'll have to pardon my ignorance. I've noticed there's some sort of air pump running at cold start up, it has to do with the thick rubber hose that runs along the driver side of the car to the front bumper. It seems when that shuts off the RPMs are able to stabilize easier. I can't figure out what's going on with the idle. I have no check engine light. I'm at a loss as to what I should do. I suspect idle speed is too low for the IAC to correct on cold start up or maybe iac is bad?

When I had a fox body 5.0 I used to be able to set my base idle by disconnecting iac, adjusting throttle blade to set RPMs to about 500, reconnecting IAC and confirming TPS voltage is between .9 and 1.0 volts. Is there any such procedure for resetting base idle on these cars? I keep searching these forums trying to find anything on setting idle speed or base idle but I'm not finding a whole lot.
Old 05-30-2016, 07:41 PM
Banned

Received 18 Likes on 18 Posts

A procedure that works on 99% of application is this: