Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can we discuss lambda vs afr?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2017, 11:43 PM
TECH Resident

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Can we discuss lambda vs afr?

I have been doing some tuning for several years and attended thetuningschool.com. There method of tuning basically consists of using STFT's to calibrate the VE and MAF. While this seems to work great in most cases, I have also been looking into Greg Banishes tuning teachings. As far as I can tell so far, he uses the wideband to correct VE and MAF. In the beginning of his dvd he goes over how lambda works and how much easier it makes things for tuning part throttle. In that part he uses a gauge that costs more than $3k. While I'm sure some shops use those, I don't know of any. I would however like to look into the lambda reading more. Do most here agree or do you think I should stay with AFR and figure out the difference. I only tune gen 3 PCM's and don't use ethanol or other fuels. If Lambda is that much better, what is a good WB to use that easily goes from car to car like my LM2?
Old 02-22-2017, 01:10 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 93 Likes on 56 Posts

You first have to realize that an o2 wideband sensor measures one thing: o2 content. Not hydrocarbons.

With that in mind, using lambda enables you to use the same scale and ratios for ANY hydrocarbon.

1 lambda in gas, ethanol, methanol, propane, diesel, is all the exact same thing. How is thag possible? Well because the sensor READS oxygen content not "fuel" content.

The gauge or wideband you bought is just programmed to spit out an AFR reading through a simple formula.

1 lambda in gasoline afr scale would be approx 14.68 afr, while using pure ethanol, it would be approximately 9 afr.

There is a huge discrepancy between 14.68 afr and 9 afr..especially when you start using methanol..you dip in the low single digits.