PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 tuning + LS1 edit....what do I need for tuning?

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2004, 07:24 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default LS1 tuning + LS1 edit....what do I need for tuning?

I am new to the LS1 tuning world and need some help. What program, parts, etc do I need to dyno-tune a modified LS1? How many options are there?

I know the basic plug-in units like a Diablo, Hypertech, etc are far too basic and many people talk about the "LS1 edit". Is this the best way to go? Will I just need a laptop to make full range adjustments to the PCM?

A little tuning 101 or FAQ would be great
Old 11-22-2004, 07:57 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

if you use ls1 edit you also need logging /scanning software like efilive or autotap to see what your engine is doing before and after you tune.....
www.hptuners.com <----has logging software built in, very popular, good prices and support
efilive flashscan <----should be out soon i think, looks cool
check out the tuning section here...good info

Last edited by horist; 11-22-2004 at 08:35 PM. Reason: Modified link
Old 11-22-2004, 10:29 PM
On The Tree

I have looked over a few sites now. Any verdict on LS1 Edit vs. HP Tuners? Same price, seemingly same features and lots of tuning parameters. I would guess there are more LS1 Edit base programs floating around out there to share?
Old 11-22-2004, 11:08 PM
TECH Senior Member

V8er ...

HPT Scanner is one of the best on the market ... ls1 edit only introduced it because HPT included it (and CPT scanner sux IMHO ... I have LS1 Edit)

HPT you get 2 licenses for car types .... LS1 Edit the tuning is locked to your PCM (not vin locked but PCM locked) ... w/HPT you can pick 2 products theiy carry and the cable will work on any of them (so if you buy for a 2000 F-Body ... it will work on ANY 2000 F-Body ... whereas edit will only work on the first car you write to)