Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

wide band o2??

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2004, 02:01 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Question wide band o2??

Please guy don't jump on me.I'm kind of new to technology in tunning aspect.
When you install the LM1 syst. you have to weld a bung in one of the primary tubes of the hedder?If i have coated hedders i have to destroy the coating in that area?
Old 11-27-2004, 02:27 PM
TECH Fanatic

i mean were you put the o2 sensor?
Old 11-27-2004, 02:28 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Wink

Originally Posted by fastsspr
When you install the LM1 syst. you have to weld a bung in one of the primary tubes of the hedder?If i have coated hedders i have to destroy the coating in that area?

To do it correctly, you must remove the coating in the area to be welded. You don't have to grind it to death, just make it shiny, grind till you see bright sparks with little bright tails on them. I know it sounds kind of hokey, but I've had people "grind" off the coating, and all they really did was shine up the coating. If you grind it lightly (it won't take much) till you see those sparks, you should be ok. Remember also, there might be coating on the inside as well. If you don't clean the inside good (sometimes you just can't reach it) the heat of welding could make the coating "boil" up to the top. You'll just have to be ready for it, and deal with it. Always remember, the cleaner, the better, at ALL times!
Old 11-27-2004, 03:12 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do you really want to put it in a primary tube? I normally weld them to the collector, or the Y pipe right after the factory 02 sensor location.

Ryan
Old 11-27-2004, 03:38 PM
TECH Regular

Originally Posted by slow
Do you really want to put it in a primary tube? I normally weld them to the collector, or the Y pipe right after the factory 02 sensor location.

Ryan