Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I really could use some help

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2005, 04:35 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Question I really could use some help

Hi all. I have read enough info to make my eyes bleed. And I need some help deciding on what software to go with. I have researched quite a bit, and now everything is mixed. I really could use advice/opinions on what is better for me, and what would be overkill. I am new to tuning, and this would be my first time tuning anything in a computer. I am ready to learn all I can though.

I need software that will:

-Fix the A/F ratio after headers and duals
-Allow me to tune for later mods-only mods I plan on in the next year or two are intake, TB, pulley, etc. I am holding off any internals for the next year or so at least.
-Capabilty of raising speed limiter is a plus, not necessary.
-Be able to turn my fans on at a lower temp.
-Something that I can monitor the engine parameters, and check/clear codes. Preferably all the different parameters, not just a handfull.
-And not too expensive .

I looked into:

Hptuners + wideband
MAFT + autotap
MAFT + a A/F gauge
Predator-not sure about it, as I dont know all its capabilities.
HPP3= junk
LS1edit- dont know much about it either

I have a palm pilot, so autotap is a possibilty. And I do have access to a laptop, just not 24/7. And I found a good deal on a MAFT.

I welcome everyone's advice and opinion. The best way to learn is not only do it, but ask the people that know.

Thanks for reading.
Old 02-16-2005, 04:47 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Based on your inputs ...

LS1-Edit - It does not currently offer a scanner, they will in the near future.
MAFT + Gauge - it won't do what your are asking for.
MAFT + ATAP - I had this prior to HPTuners. All you can do is scan and clear codes. It was a ncie scanner, but that was all, you could not edit the VCM. Although you can use a palm pilot