Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Torque Management

Old 09-07-2005, 02:19 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Torque Management

I have a 2005 Silverado with the 5.3 HO Vortec V8
I love the truck other than the torque management (weak shifts, no immediate power, etc)
.. I have the new 2005 LS1 Truck Definition File for TunerCat, I was wondering what I would have to do to eleminate the torque management... I understand that torque management is just pulling timing and the lower shift tables, but I am brand new to tuning, so I dont know what to tweak or how far to go, etc.

All help is appreciated,
Thanks
Alex
Old 09-07-2005, 04:26 PM
TECH Fanatic

I feel your pain. I have HPtuners for my truck and plan to dive into that issue as soon as I get my car dialed in. That torque management sucks! It is a shame that my truck won't roast them at all. It should light up those skinny tires all day.

I also am not a fan of the ETC. I still think its slower than a regular cable, but maybe deleting some TM will help.

edit: I am not too familiar with TunerCat, but I have been told NOT to eliminate all the torque management in our trucks or drivetrain problems down the road may happen. FWIW I plan to take about 50% of the TM out.
Old 09-07-2005, 11:13 PM
Launching!

I got a 2000 and had a custume tune done on my truck were they actually retune the whole computer. I took out 85% of TM and they just left it where it really needs it. They also adjusted the fuel tables and timing and whatever. I noticed an incredible increase in the truck. It roast the tires bad now. So bad that now i cant hook up at all on the track. I run a 9.532 @77mph on the 1/8th on a 95* day. It doesnt seem too rough on the truck durring shifts at all even with spraying the truck during shifts.

Jon
Old 09-08-2005, 09:32 AM
TECH Regular