Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/F for PE??

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2005, 03:48 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/F for PE??

what is the Best A/F to shoot for on our V8 Fbody cars??

12.5 AFR up to peak torque....lean out to 12.8 at peak Horspower...richen back up a little to the rev limiter???

or just a flat value across the board...like 12.8 or 13.0 or 12.5??
just trying to figure this out as I am new to this tuning thing...
I have a basic understanding of what to do..I just want to know what the best PE settings are
Old 11-18-2005, 07:32 AM
TECH Enthusiast

I'd be interested in hearing some responses to this question too from tuners with much experience.

I've done some road testing and seen extremely little performance difference between 12.2, 12.5, 12.8, and 13.1. In my testing 12.8 did seem to give the best performance at all rpm levels ...but I'm still a newb and am using the road, not a dyno, so my data has a lot of noise in it (wind, incline, etc.)
Old 11-18-2005, 08:10 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Depends too much on what you parts combo will let you get away with (without knock)... DCR, colder stat, cylinder head choice...blah blah blah... I have always made best power starting lean at low rpm (2000ish) and transitioning to richer at peak rpm. i.e. 14.4>---->13.7ish scaling in a gradient across the rpm range. BUT, this is for my specific setup... may not work for you... All my mods are in my sig...

I run timing in the same fashion... 30>---->27 (low rpm through high rpm) @WOT

Old 11-18-2005, 12:08 PM
TECH Enthusiast