PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Readiness Codes for OBD-II Inspections?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2005, 06:14 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EVAP. Readiness Codes for OBD-II Inspections???

I have recently aquired a 2002 TransAm WS-6... It has 10,0xx mi. and I am basically new to the F-body world.

I went to inspect it today for the first time in North Carolina.(We are OBD-II compliant now!!!)

EVAP system is apparently staying in Closed Loop mode???(according to Emissions Computer...

Tried all the driving at medium consistant speed and idling prior to testing 3 times..

Anyone have any input?? Apparently there are updates from GM for the Cadillacs with similar Readiness System problems specific to Inspections.

Thanks
WILL

Last edited by BigWillieStyle_21; 01-01-2006 at 11:08 PM. Reason: More Specific....
Old 12-31-2005, 01:42 PM
Teching In

Anybody have any problems getting their's inspected in a Fed. Emissions OBD-II state or county????

Not the sniffer for the exhuast.. Where they hook up to the OBD port and read from the PCM whether all the emissiosn equipment is workign within correct tolerances..

Its apparently a Cadillac and Camaro-TransAm problem for 1998+...

Thanks
WILL
Old 12-31-2005, 02:32 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Glad I got out of NC before they started this. They're just reading the PCM for any codes right? First thing if you're not throwing a SES light is make sure the car is "hot" when you get it inspected. www.obdii.com/drivecycle.html may help too. Even if you don't have an SES light bring it somewhere and have any codes read (current or history) for anything EVAP related. You shouldn't have any problems at all passing with only 10K on the car.

Last edited by 2001NBMZ28; 12-31-2005 at 02:37 PM.
Old 01-01-2006, 05:57 PM
Teching In