Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

really dumb n00b lid question

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2006, 07:13 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default really dumb n00b lid question

Hey guys. Um, I have a confession to make. I am really mechanically challenged, LOL. I have a lot of technical knowledge about cars that I have learned from reading books and magazines but when I actually take a wrench into my hands and try to work on a car myself I'm just all thumbs. So I know there will be those who will laugh and make fun of me, go ahead, I don't care what anyone thinks, but anyway...

I was wondering if anyone knows of some really simple instructions for how to install an air lid ONLY. I'd like to try to install an SLP lid myself which I know is idiotically simple for everyone else but it intimidates me. I have read the install instructions on installuniversity.com and on ls1howto.com and they are both installing an MAF as well as the lid in those instructions, so I think the MAF install is overcomplicating the lid install in those write-ups. Because they are installing the MAF at the same time I think they remove more than they have to if you were just doing the lid, right? Those instructions say you have to loosen two band clamps and disconnect 3 sensors, and remove the entire intake assembly from the throttle body forward, including the bellows and the MAF. If I am only putting in the lid, don't I just have to remove only the IA sensor on the lid itself and loosen the frontmost band clamp? Can't I leave the bellows and the MAF still attached to the throttle body? Or do I have to remove all that junk? Thanks for the help
Old 04-09-2006, 07:19 PM
TECH Fanatic