PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Vapor Lock symptoms?! Need help (long post- ongoing saga)

Old 07-06-2006, 07:17 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vapor Lock symptoms?! Need help (long post- ongoing saga)

>Repost from CamaroZ28.com<

Evening all,

I have been chasing what seems to be a ghost for some time now (7 months so far). Here's the deal, all of which has been worked under waranty so far:

Took the car in b/c it was idling rough and seemed to be getting crappy mileage. At the time, I only really noticed it idled bad and seemed to stumble/bog down as I slowed to a stop; almost SEEMED like the tranny was not dis-engaging bogging the engine down at the time. Thought it may have been a slug of crappy gas and it set a SES code P0300. I was traveling then and it was only occasional so I ensured I was getting descent gas and took it in when I got home. Dealer couldn't find anything and cleared the code.

Same symptoms came back, so back to the dealer it went. The dealer said they did a fuel injector cleaning (no idea WTF they actually did) and called it good..... no joy.

Drove the car and the problem was not fixed and became much worse quickly. Less than a week of getting it back, it would even stall out at slow speeds (parking lot manuvering) and set a SES code (P0430). Back to the shop and they replaced BOTH catalytic converters (nothing with the O2 sensors).