Sponsored by:

What should I do for a tune?

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2006, 11:18 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What should I do for a tune?

This is what I will have and what I want to accomplish with it

I am going to purchase a 98-02 Z28 A4 with 3.23's to bracket race. I am going to install a FAST ram air, lid, catback, 160 thermo. and 100hp dry nitrous kit(just incase). What route would you guys recomend for me to go in the tuning department. I know I want to improve the firmess of the shifts, I want torque mangement deleted, fan temps lowered. I want to make this car as consistent as possible. Going the quickest possible is not the most important factor although it wouldn't hurt. Future adjustability is not that big of a concern bc the car will stay in this form for a long while.

Would you recomend a hand held tuner(predator ok?), custom tune, or a full laptop programer? Bear in mind I have no turning experience with an LS1 and really no local help. If you suggest a custom tune would a mail in place suffice or should I get it dyno tuned? If I should get it dyno tuned where is the best place near central Missouri and how much does it run?

Sorry about all the questions, I'm just a noob trying to get his ducks in a row before i jump in.

thanks in advance.
Old 11-09-2006, 11:49 AM
12 Second Club

I would go for HP Tuners that way you will grow with it.
Old 11-09-2006, 02:41 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

handhelds are pretty limited

a custom tuning, dyno, street or whatever is a one shot deal that could run you $600 in some cases.

Tuning software suites start at around $499 and work their way up depending on options...hptuners is the route I went after getting what I would consider a poor dyno tune & havent looked back since.
Old 11-09-2006, 08:28 PM
TECH Resident

....and a mail order tune wont get you dead on either, especially after you start modding more and more.