Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anybody know about BCM's

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2006, 11:00 PM
12 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anybody know about BCM's

anybody know about the BCM in the 98 camaro's? I am being told that I may have a problem with it due to my car not starting with the key and the fuel and oil gauge maxing out when I jump the starter relay to start the car... I need as much info as possible, I am not good with computers or wiring....

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-27-2006, 02:15 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The oil pressure and fuel gauge feeds don't pass through the bcm.

The bcm manages the power locks, the alarm functions, the vats signal to the pcm, the daytime running lights, retained accessory power, theater dimming of the interior lights, and the speed signal for speed controlled volume on the Camaro radio.

Any mods done right before the problem started? If so, it's probably related to that.

Sounds like bad ground, bad battery, or bad starter.
Old 11-27-2006, 03:59 PM
12 Second Club

Originally Posted by John_D.
The oil pressure and fuel gauge feeds don't pass through the bcm.

The bcm manages the power locks, the alarm functions, the vats signal to the pcm, the daytime running lights, retained accessory power, theater dimming of the interior lights, and the speed signal for speed controlled volume on the Camaro radio.

Any mods done right before the problem started? If so, it's probably related to that.

Sounds like bad ground, bad battery, or bad starter.
no mods at all, I can pull the starter relay, run a wire from teh 30 prong to the power lead and the car will start right up, so that elimantes teh battery and starter. If I try to turn it on with the key it doesn't turn over, but all the acc.'s come on, and no security light. I dont get it at all, it jsut happened all of a sudden
Old 11-27-2006, 04:46 PM
12 Second Club