Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

delete front o2s

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2007, 01:59 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default delete front o2s

what will happen if my friend deleted his front o2 sensors? its a drag only car. will it riching up or become lean?
Old 07-18-2007, 07:59 AM
TECH Regular

I am kinda new at tuning, but I think if you go OLSD tune you won't need front O2's at all.
Old 07-18-2007, 08:37 AM
TECH Addict

Received 35 Likes on 21 Posts

Typically the cars run a little richer if everything else is tuned properly. The Open Loop commanded A/F is typically slightly richer than the 14.7 A/F that is always commanded during closed loop.
Old 07-18-2007, 09:06 AM
TECH Addict

Actually, the AFR will be whatever the PCM calculates it to be based on the MAF, VE, IFR, and whatever fueling tables it takes into consideration. Assuming those are tuned correctly, the car will behave 'kind of' like a carb'd application in the sense that you set it and go. There's no learning or feedback for the PCM to use to make corrections. However, the difference is the PCM is still calculating some things off of changing conditions (manifold vacuum, intake temps, coolant temps, etc.). So, it will be more forgiving to changes in weather than a carb'd application.

But, DO NOT make the mistake of assuming that just because the PCM commands a certain AFR, the car will actually produce that AFR. The tables have to be dialed in appropriately for that to happen. To anyone who runs OL full time, I highly recommend hooking up a WBO2 so you can monitor your AFR. It will vary from day to day.
Old 07-18-2007, 09:46 AM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by SSpdDmon
To anyone who runs OL full time, I highly recommend hooking up a WBO2 so you can monitor your AFR. It will vary from day to day.
That is actually not true. I have been running OL on my car for years (since '03 I think??). The a/f ratio of the car is very consistent.