PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New HPTuner...what should I do first to improve performance?

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2007, 12:03 AM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New HPTuner...what should I do first to improve performance?

Hello.
I just got HPtuner and I ran a scan on my car. I noticed that the duty cycle of my injectors on my nitrous run (100shot dry) was at about 85%. Should I switch to bigger injectors? Also, what else should I do to better the performance? I want to add fuel especially for when I run the N20 and I want to take the TQ management out. Pointers are very helpful. Thank you.
Oh yeah, and I also noticed a knock retard of 4 at about 4300-4400RPM in the tables. Is that normal for a nitrous situation? The non-sprayed run: everything was fine.

Last edited by BlackZ28629; 11-19-2007 at 12:32 AM.
Old 11-19-2007, 02:20 AM
On The Tree

I am relatively new to HPtuners aswell, but might be able to help. For as the injectors, 85% is fine no need to go bigger. I think you might want to pull timing @ WOT just to be safe tho and no, knock of 4 is not normal, its my understanding that anything over 3 is USUALLY real knock. You might be pinging while on the spray. I think pulling some timing will help you a bunch.
Old 11-19-2007, 07:06 AM
Jedi Master

the 4000-5200 rpm range is typically where you will see timing being pulled because that is where your car makes max torque. Look at your timing tables and just subtract four degrees of timing from that part of the table. Load the tune and see if it comes back.
Old 11-19-2007, 07:27 PM
Launching!

anyone else....suggestions?
Old 11-19-2007, 07:37 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Gh0st