PCM Diagnostics & Tuning HP Tuners | Holley | Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who does their own tuning with HPTuners?

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2008, 03:21 AM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Who does their own tuning with HPTuners?

If so did you know nothing about when you started and learned along the way? Is it really that complicated? I just bought hp tuners and I am very mechanically inclined and do all my own work and want to start my own tuning but am starting to worry this is not going to be as easy as I thought it would.
Old 05-29-2008, 08:56 AM
TECH Enthusiast

I started about 2 years ago and self-taught.
Some tips:

1) read everything, trust nothing
2) make small steps, document everything, backup everything
3) ONE step/change at a time, record results
4) read EVERYTHING you can. tuning forums, books, whatever
5) be careful what you trust. Whats true for one vehicle/application may not be true for another.
6) dont get into the whole "this way of tuning rocks and yours sucks" arguments - tuning is half art and half science.
Old 05-29-2008, 09:27 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I started about 4 years ago & self taught but with alot of poking at various mentors

here's a good thread I started with some tips that I thought would've helped me out along the way

http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11178
Old 05-29-2008, 02:24 PM
Launching!

All of the notes above are great points. I started tuning about 5-6 years ago on a complete standalone system. Personally, the way I learned the most was by comparing calibration files for different setups and asking questions on the forums. Start with a stock file and look at your basics like fuel mappings, idle settings, and timing settings before getting into the more advanced features. You will start to notice what settings change along with VE changing modifications.