Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

High 11's

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2009, 06:19 PM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default High 11's

At some point I want to build up my M6 ws6 to run consistant high 11's. How does this order look. I figure I will do the research now to save trouble later. I would like to get it done with just bolt ons, but something tells me I may need a bigger cam. I am new to LS1's so bare with me.

4.10 gears
Magnaflow cat back--Already have***
Long tubes
SLP air lid
Bellows?? Prob a waste?
K&N's--***
FAST 92mm Intake Ported?
1.85 rockers
85mm MAF
Tune
Drag Radials
Old 05-14-2009, 02:41 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

spend money first on a cam and heads before the intake track and the $400 rockers. I have a small cam and cheap heads and have an easy 11.5 in my car with some good tires.I have a ls6 intake and stock rockers. The rockers and intake will run you $1600 and with your setup will give you little.
Old 05-14-2009, 09:53 PM
TECH Addict

Originally Posted by jhall
spend money first on a cam and heads before the intake track and the $400 rockers. I have a small cam and cheap heads and have an easy 11.5 in my car with some good tires.I have a ls6 intake and stock rockers. The rockers and intake will run you $1600 and with your setup will give you little.
Is it possible to hit high 11's with just bolt ons? I really want to set a good set of headers first to make it sounds mean.
Old 05-15-2009, 10:07 AM
TECH Fanatic

Headers are headers. I highly doubt that your cars sound will greatly vary between different brands of long tube headers. However, there are differences in quality and overall fitment. Pick a header that stainless steel, thats what I would do.
Old 05-15-2009, 10:35 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 18 Likes on 10 Posts

First off, it's completely possible to run 11s with bolt ons. You would just have to drive the **** out of it, and good weather wouldn't hurt either.