Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Advice Please

Old 05-26-2013, 04:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice Please

This is my car and I bought it when I was 18. I am going to keep it till the day I die because it is the first car I ever purchased and I love seeing an old man driving a car from his generatoin. My car is a 2000 Pontiac Firebird and I got my license in 2002, so I like to say this is my generation model.

Please excuse me I'm very new to engines and am learning basics (VERY NEW) My vehicle is only a V6 3.8L. My original plans were to rip it out and put a V8 or just somthign big in it. I have been researching and it seems putting money into a 3.8L can actually result in a nice fast machine. I am juggling the two ideas and leaning toward keeping my 3.8L. Its rare to see it in my area and would like the attention it would bring. The only thing I feel i will miss is the rumble of the V8.

My Question : Is it a dumb idea to stick wtih my 3.8L or is it a viable option. I dont need to be SUPER fast but I want to be able to beat at least a stock 8. Please all the input is appreciated!

..Another reason I would love to keep the 3.8L is to show all of my friends and co-workers who give me crap for having a 3.8L and a "Fast" looking car and shut them up.

Thank you for your time!
Attached Thumbnails Advice Please-23606_10150111646560626_6273504_n.jpg  
Old 05-26-2013, 04:47 PM
TECH Apprentice

What kind of budget are you working with? This will let others know how to better answer your request .
Old 05-26-2013, 04:51 PM

I'm new to forums also.... I dont know how to make the picture big on my post!! I try with my facebook link but its a broken image.

I have an agreement with my wife that budget will not be an issue. I would say up to 15k.

I know i can buy a new car but THIS is my first car.
Old 05-26-2013, 07:29 PM
TECH Apprentice