Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Ride is rough - Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2014, 04:21 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ride is rough - Help

Hey guys,

This is my first time in this forum and I'll admit up front I'm not much of a car guy. My dad had a 98 Trans Am and after he passed away I got it. I love the car but for me it is my daily commuter car and for him he used it for racing. So he had it lowered and once you combine that and the rough roads here in California it makes my commute rough. I'm talking hitting my head on the roof rough if I catch the right pot hole.

I'm hoping to get any ideas on getting a better ride out of it. Is it as simple as replacing the springs? The car has 115,000 miles so should I do shocks as well? Are these items that are easy to do myself or should I just take it somewhere?

Thanks for the help.
Old 09-13-2014, 04:40 PM
On The Tree

Go back to the stock springs and switch out the struts to some Bilsteins. Tire rotation, wheel balance, and alignment will help as well.
Old 09-14-2014, 03:53 PM
'Bird Director

Location: Central Indiana Honors: 4th grade spelling bee contestant
Received 24 Likes on 16 Posts

Welcome to LS1tech!

If you're the least bit unsure of doing this job yourself, I would take it to a professional. Removing the springs from the struts can be very dangerous, and you could easily get hurt if something were to go wrong.

Sorry for your loss. I just went through this earlier in the year with my own Father, so I know how it feels.
Old 09-16-2014, 12:39 AM
Pontiacerator

Received 194 Likes on 163 Posts

If the springs are stock, keep them. Replace the shocks with Bilsteins. If the shocks are original, the car must ride horribly.