Pontiac Firebird 1967-2002 Birds of a feather flock together

Replacing LT1 Engine

Old 05-07-2008, 11:53 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Replacing LT1 Engine

Sorry for being a beginner here but I'm changing out the LT1 in my '97 Trans Am Firebird Formula and need a couple of pointers. I've found a used LT1 out of a caprice for $450 and plan on using the one with the cracked block for spare parts (and will canabalize the oil pan). Can anyone give me some (low cost) pointers on some minor changes (to enhance performance) and things to look out for during this job. This is my first time pulling an engine out the bottom of a car.
Old 05-07-2008, 12:34 PM
Teching In

B Body LT1 engines have a different cam design than F Body LT1s for more low end power to get those heavy cars outta the hole better!
Old 05-07-2008, 12:53 PM

Red face

Can I use the Cam out of the TA to replace the caprice one? My feeling (with only the radiator/battery/tranny cooler pulled so far) is that the block is cracked. Would that have damaged the CAM? It didn't get real hot, I think the block damage was from the first time the wife overheated it and blew the head gaskets.
Old 05-07-2008, 01:02 PM
TECH Apprentice