Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

Advice Needed 04 5.7L GTO

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2012, 07:36 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice Needed 04 5.7L GTO

Hi, first I would like to apologize if this thread is in the wrong spot, im new to the website.

Ive had my GTO for less than a year and I love it. I've been browsing around on youtube and listening to different GTO's and I love the choppy old muscle sound. Learning this was due to a cam swap, I did a little research and came across this site.

I have read many different threads with some of the same questions but I figure we all have a little bit different desires and different cars, so I thought I would give it a go myself.

I am not a mechanic by any stretch so I'd appreciate all the help I could get. I have a few goals and due to my ignorance I'm not sure they can all be met.

I think it is important to know that I am 19 years old and pay for this car entirely on my own so I dont have thousands of dollars to spend.

Goals: 1.Choppy sound, 2.Little change in city mpg (currently 16.5-17.2 in the nice weather, 15.2-16.7 in the cold), 3.Spend as little money as possible however have it done correctly and satisfy all areas to have a healthy running engine (isn't that everyones goal.. lol -ik) 4.*MUST: pass emissions*

extra*Borla Exhaust came with the car. (no other mods to my knowledge other than rims)

This is a great site and I hope you all can help me as you have others. -Giving thanks in advanced.
~Rob
Old 01-15-2012, 07:55 PM
Now you have my attention

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Have you considered a long tube setup first?

It's a bit cheaper than a cam, and will get you a nice performance gain on top of a sweet sound.

I know what you mean about the choppy sound, but everyone I know who did a cam first would have done long tubes first.

How strict are your emissions laws? Do they sniff OBD2 cars?
Old 01-15-2012, 08:16 PM
Staging Lane

Thanks for the fast reply!