Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

Rebuilt diff, whines after 75 miles

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2012, 12:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Rebuilt diff, whines after 75 miles

Hello everyone i need some advice.

I just had a shop rebuild my diff, with 3.70 gears and a whole new bearing install kit from. Its pretty much a new diff. Well after 75 miles into the break in, and driving like an old lady the gears are howling inbetween 50-65mph. the shop says its not his setup thats the problem its the gears, so he say get them warranteed, like thats easy. It only whines when steady throttle is applied, i know its not set up right, but he insists his work is good and its the gears that are at fault.

I need advice. Im a college student and i just spent 1000$ dollars fixing a diff that, turns out is not fixed.

Thanks
Manuel
Old 07-03-2012, 02:23 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Did he add the friction modifier?
Old 07-03-2012, 04:24 PM

Yes he added the modifier.
Old 07-03-2012, 06:55 PM
11 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'd pull the cover and check the contact pattern. If the backlash and pinion depth are ok, call the gear manufacturer.
Old 07-03-2012, 11:15 PM
Launching!

Lot's of these gears are whining. You can read about it on LS1GTO.com
Old 07-03-2012, 11:44 PM
10 Second Club

who was the manufacturer of the gears?? whine is generaly typical with aftermarket gears
Old 07-04-2012, 01:52 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts

The Motive gears whine a little. Another cause is the pinion depth is wrong and this is a very common problem. Shops just can't seem to set the pinion depth correctly.
Old 07-04-2012, 10:20 AM
TECH Regular

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Jontall
The Motive gears whine a little.
My 3.91s whine and I personally know of another guys Motive 3.91s that also whine.
Old 07-04-2012, 05:41 PM
On The Tree