Pontiac GTO 2004-2006 The Modern Goat

04 cruise

Old 11-23-2016, 02:37 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 04 cruise

I had a 04 GTO with the cruise not working ive looked in other post and none of them have the same problem as mine I have access to prodemand and have went throw almost all the steps to trouble shoot it. heres what it dose you start the car push on/off button says engaged and shows cruise on the screen you start to drive and hit 20mph and it turns of before you get fast enough to active it and wont turn back on till you recycle the key have not been able to find anyone with the same problem. Im new to the form
Old 11-28-2016, 10:03 AM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Is your TRACTION CONTROL and ABS working properly? Sounds like it may be a bad wheel speed sensor to me since it turns on but turns itself off pretty quick.

Has the car been MODDED any and TUNED? Does it have stock 17"wheels and stock tire sizes? Wheel/Tire size has to be set in the PCM for all the stuff to work together.

Check for any fault codes first. The cruise control is tied to several different systems and won't work unless all the other systems and components are working. Wheel speed sensors on left and right sides of the rear diff, cruise control module/actuator under the hood next to the ABS valve block. Has the BCM been changed out? If so you will need a TECH II to reflash it to match your VIN, GM car dealerships and most good repair shops have the TECH II tool.

A low battery can also cause multiple electronic gremlins as well as the wiring close to the BCM under the dash in the passenger footwell behind the glovebox, check to make sure the wiring isn't rubbed/chaffed.