Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

Looking for advice on roadracing/autocross

Old 02-05-2014, 05:57 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Looking for advice on roadracing/autocross

I want to start doing to autocross or road racing. I dont live to far from VIR.

I am wondering about the do's and dont's of what to do to the car. My car is a 95 camaro stock suspension so far. right now I have a CC502 cam and 3600 vig stall 3.42 gear ratio. I have zero knowledge on this so I am looking for you guys to school me. Right now the car is torn apart so I can change stuff while the engine and tranny are out.

I am looking to just go an have a good time not really be super competitive.
Old 02-05-2014, 06:21 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Make sure nothing is leaking or worn out, and go enjoy yourself. Lots of clubs have HPDEs where they provide coaches. Look at the HPDE schedule for VIR and sign up for an event. While an auto isn't quite optimal, you can still do it. I ran my GXP last year and had a blast.
Old 02-05-2014, 07:01 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Seat time that's all.
Old 02-05-2014, 08:28 PM
TECH Enthusiast

what do you guys think of the trq converter? Should I send it out to be adjusted or leave it alone?

what are HPDEs?

Thank you for the input guys soon as the car is back together I am going to try some stuff out.
Old 02-06-2014, 07:26 AM
TECH Fanatic

HPDE = High Performance Driver Education or High Performance Driving Event. I've seen both used. I wouldn't monkey with the converter. If it's out and you have another laying around, cool, but I wouldn't have your high stall converter messed with just to do HPDEs. The concept isn't to "win" an HPDE, but the learn and practice. In the process, you get better and faster and realize its mostly driver and not car that make you zip around the track more smoothly.
Old 02-06-2014, 09:00 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Thanks for the advice guys I really do appreciate it.