Road Racing Road Course | Autocross

what types of racing out there? new to racing

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2016, 02:53 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default what types of racing out there? new to racing

as of this year my ws6 turbo is now complete. needless to say im also growing out of the back road drags and now more interested in a controlled racing environment. im planning on going to the drag strip this year once i install all track requirements but im also picking up an older triumph gt6 that i would like to try as a road racer and maybe the ws6 when i learn to actually drive in a road course.(although i think the turbo wont be eligible.)

ive heard people talk about different class racing(like e/f/a/b? i dont recall actual letters)
as a beginner i know i wont go into racing right away. but i figured it would be nice to keep the car in compliance to what i would eventually race in so i dont spend money on mods that i would have to remove.

my question is where do i learn about different class im not entirely sure what to search for, do i focus on road racing or auto cross?

what would be the specific class that the 69 triumph gt6 belong in?

I have no problem googling stuff if you guys can just point me in a general direction on what to start searching that would be awesome

thank you.
Old 02-17-2016, 05:21 PM
10 Second Club

Received 55 Likes on 48 Posts

Autocross events you don't even need to worry. It's the friendliest type of gathering you'll ever go to, and the experienced folks at the registration booth will put you in the class you need to be in.

Road racing for the most part, is going to class you by experience until you get a time trial or provisional comp license. You'll start off with an instructor and work your way up. By the time you get a license you'll have a good idea of where you need to be - generally the classing is done by power to weight ratio as a base then modifiers for certain things.

nasaproracing.com/