Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gen4 tuning help

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2016, 08:18 AM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gen4 tuning help

I just finished up doing my swap into my 70 monte carlo a month back and I'm running into some tuning issue's that's I'm having trouble ironing out. Specs on my setup is L96 2014 motor, 08 4L80, E38 pcm/T42 tcm with a 08 2500 van file as my base file. Running the stock #50 injectors that came with the motor and vvt is disabled.

Issue's I'm running into is high idle when you let of the gas and coast, plus when you come to a stop it holds the idle and slowly comes down. And if you let off the brake and coast the idle goes right back up again. I'm a little new to the gen4 stuff so not sure what tables control that (I have no throttle cracker tables)

Second issue is when warming up the engine, when cruising steady will surge up and done a little. Can hear it in the exhaust and feel it. Once fully warmed up the issue mostly disappears but you can faintly notice it still on the expressway.

Third issue is the trans. I'm having issue's still getting the trans to do what I set in the tables for pressure. Most of the time the trans shifts ok, not great or solid like I would like to see. But every once in a while when I start it and drive down the start the trans will go full pressure slamming every gear. Only way it stops is if you cycle the engine on/off and then drive again, then things return to normal. Torque management is mostly off and shift times are at .2 with shift pressure raised a decent amount.

Any help or direction would be great, I'd love to finish up to the tune so I can take it to the track once before the snow flies this year
Old 09-22-2016, 09:03 AM
Staging Lane

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Have you calibrated the MAF/VVE tables or is the tune stock? The idle issue sounds like a minimum idle air issue...I'd try lowering that 10-15% and see what happens.
Old 09-22-2016, 10:12 AM
Staging Lane