Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

May get the ls1tech Darwin Award Of the day but...

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2017, 12:18 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default May get the ls1tech Darwin Award Of the day but...

for guys who went too small with their first fuel pump, why couldn't you use two different sized fuel pumps but have one kick on with a Hobbs switch? For example, Iln my 98 z28 i have a racetronix Hotwire setup with a 255lph pump. I just recently purchased an aeromotive 340lph stealth. Why couldn't they be ran together and successfully add more fuel together? I'm no expert on these cars "obviously " but the only issue I could see is one pump being overworked more so than the other . The same switch that engages my boost a pump, could be used to engage the 340lph pump once pressure drops so many psi , and allow me to make more power. Idk just food for thought as I'm sure a lot of people like me have wasted money on pumps like the 255lph and just assume when we upgrade it's useless unless running a dual 255lph setup .
Old 02-25-2017, 12:39 AM
TECH Addict

Received 475 Likes on 365 Posts

Just my very humble opinion,,, but I've spent a lot of time a the track, I have a lot of friends that road race and I'm pretty good at keeping a car on track. Three things have cause more DNF's for me than any other.

1. Dual Fuel Pumps.
2. Crappy/Cheezy/sloppy electrical wiring.
3. Waiting till the last minute to prep the car (IE at the track on race day)

I really prefer a bigger single pump, bigger lines and a full return regulator. Electric high pressure pumps heat the fuel a lot. And the less time it spends in the lines in the engine bay the better. One problem is that with hydraulics the pump with the most power can dead head the other pump until demand get high enough that the head pressure equalizes on the output side of the pumps.

Your Mileage may vary...
Old 02-25-2017, 11:42 AM
TECH Apprentice