Small Block & Big Block Chevy Specific Mouse & Rat Motor Discussion & Conversions

I want to learn to rebuild a Chevy 350

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2011, 07:23 PM
Launching!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default I want to learn to rebuild a Chevy 350

Hey all,

My buddy has a 2 bolt Chevy 350 sitting in his garage which he offered me for free.

I have some experience with bolt ons, etc. on my LT1 but I had a machine shop do all the internal work. I would like to learn how to do it myself so I was thinking of doing a practice budget build on this 350.

Ultimately I think I will buy a motor less third gen or something cheap, drop it in, and re-sell to recoup some of the money.

I am looking for a tried and true budget combination that has some power but is reliable and street friendly. A pre packaged assembly that eliminates the guess work would be ideal.

I'd rather not endlessly tromp through junk yards looking for parts and the absolute lowest cost possible, but if there is a place or two where you can skimp on quality (cost), I'd love to hear it.

I've heard the Vortec heads are a good bang for the buck option and it's easy to make a 383 motor with a 400 crank.

Looking forward to hear your ideas
Old 09-05-2011, 09:11 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Thirdgen.org and nastyz28.com are probably the two best resources on the net for SBC tech. Both will have a wealth of information and proven combos.

As for vortec heads, they are the best bang for the buck in small block heads, but have some limitations that need to be addressed in high performance builds. Nastyz28 has an enormous vortec sticky thread that you can learn from.

As for the build itself, there are a million boks that will take you step by step through the process. I have the dvd from SA Books and it's very good.
Old 09-05-2011, 10:01 AM
Staging Lane