Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

about to buy some CDTs from Kee. Questions.

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2009, 08:40 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default about to buy some CDTs from Kee. Questions.

I'm using the factory Monsoon deck and amp, my door speakers are blown and need replacing. My question is, are the CDT CL-E61CV worth the extra $ over the CL-61CVs? I've heard people say that if you're running the factory amp it doesn't really make sense to get the pricier version as it isn't going to get the full capabilities of the speakers. Thoughts?
Old 06-28-2009, 10:52 PM
TECH Regular

I have no experience with these speakers but i look at the situation like this: if somewhere down the line the amp takes a dump and you replace it, what would you rather have? i always plan my system components for where i want the system to be when all factory components are changed.

Last edited by bmnicolosi; 06-28-2009 at 10:52 PM. Reason: edit wording
Old 06-29-2009, 05:07 PM
On The Tree

I dont know about the Cl-61cv because i have not heard them.. however... I bought the following from Ian and am very happy:

CDT CL-E61CV
CDT HD-M6
CDT CL-4X
CDT SQA-4100

I love the Cl-E61cv and the HD-M6 with this amp. I havent installed the rear Cl-4X yet because I am waiting to tune the front 4 yet and see how it sounds. I may not even go with the rears, I just have to see.

I would highly suggest going with Ian though, He is a good dude. Very willing to help, very knowledgable and professional.

I would second the above advice about planning how you want your system down the line.

Nick
Old 06-29-2009, 06:10 PM
TECH Apprentice

Thanks, Ls1zfast. I went ahead with the CL-61CV. I'm sure it'll sound much better than stock. A question about your setup though - did you just swap out the factory Monsoon amp for the SQA-4100? If so, how easy was it to do? You mount it in the same location.