Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Infinity door speakers

Old 05-16-2012, 04:32 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Infinity door speakers

Went to car toys and was told the door speakers where coaxle speakers and not component as I always thought. Purchased a pair of infinity 6023cf http://www.crutchfield.com/S-LmO1wPj...ce-6032cf.html for the doors. The bass does not seem as good nor the treble as high as the stock monsoons that were in there.

Are they components and thats why they don't sound as good or is my ear a little more picky?

Have 30 days to take back so would like to find out whats going on...

Thanks for any help guys!
Old 05-16-2012, 05:00 PM
On The Tree

I'm not an expert on the stock Monsoon system, but I'd guess your door speakers aren't getting any treble at all, since I seem to recall that the factory tweets were run off the head unit directly or something of the sort.

I had those exact Infinity speakers, though, and I wasn't happy with them. I also have (currently) the high-end Infinity Kappa Perfect series speakers in my doors, and I'm not impressed with their low-end response either.
Old 05-16-2012, 05:49 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

def component..... Monsoon amp sends TWO signals to the front speaker. You have to separate the leads and run them separately.

See my post:

https://ls1tech.com/forums/stereo-el...speaker-s.html

post 16 for pics
Old 05-16-2012, 05:50 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Camaros with Monsoon audio have component door speakers that are mounted coaxially. Yeah, a little weird. That's why there are 4 wires going to them. If you hook up to only the midrange wires then yeah you'll be lacking the highs. Also, the factory amp and speakers are 2 ohm IIRC and those speakers (like most aftermarkets) are 4 ohm, so power transfer isn't as good.