Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

* 01 firebird* Need Help choosing sounds- speakers and head unit (monsoon)

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2012, 10:32 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default * 01 firebird* Need Help choosing sounds- speakers and head unit (monsoon)

I am a total audio newb, and would like some help deciding on what speakers to choose as replacements as well as some help choosing a new head unit.

I have read the monsoon faq, but I did not understand alot of the terminology or specs mentioned.

I have an 01 firebird with the monsoon audio, completely stock.

Currently, one of the sail panel speakers is broken.

Should I replace just the sails with either of these...
1)http://www.keeaudio.com/bazooka.html
2)http://shop.doubledmods.com/WF6415DV...-bazooka65.htm

or .. should i replace all of the speakers at once with either of these

1)http://www.keeaudio.com/fbodyspeakers.html ($289)
2)http://shop.doubledmods.com/Gen-4-Speaker-Package-8-gen4PKG8.htm($259)

of the previous two packages, are there major differences in the brands of the speakers. The package on double mods has no specs. Which is the better deal? Kee or Dd?

Also, if I plan to replace my head unit sometime down the line with a double din head unit, are there specific specs that i should look for? Am i limited to a certain wattage or anything? or should I just get the one i like that is in my price range?

The cheapest bezel i have found for a double din has been around $100... Is there anywhere they could be had cheaper, or is that normal pricing.

Again, I am a total newb to understanding audio specs, etc.

Any other tips or help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Old 12-16-2012, 12:23 AM
Teching In

http://www.pyleaudio.com/sku/PLPW6D/...-Ohm-Subwoofer

Would these work for the sail panels?

Last edited by WhiteBird00; 12-17-2012 at 07:17 AM. Reason: replaced non-sponsor link