Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Trans Am rewire project

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2016, 10:05 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Trans Am rewire project

First off, I'm not entirely sure this is the right place to post this, but seeing as there isn't really a good place for general wiring/electrical, this seemed as good as any.

I (somewhat) recently embarked on a quest to rewire my car in a way that was simple, serviceable, and reliable. Without getting into too much detail of the car's past, I've been fighting it on the electrical front for over 4 years - as soon as one problem was fixed, two more surfaced. So, being the masochist I am, I decided to essentially redo everything.

Some quick background - the car is a '98, so the first wiring issue was the PCM. I converted the harness to a '99+ by re-pinning the PCM connectors. When things still didn't seem to work right, I decided to rip out the engine harness, tear it apart, and rebuild it. That (obviously) didn't work, because I was not a professional harness builder, so I ordered a harness from BP, with some custom touches to work with my '98 body. After that, I lost my mind and decided the rest of the engine bay wiring needed redone, since half the fuses up there weren't needed anymore. Lots of time, tinkering, and studying wiring diagrams led to this nearly final product. I don't have any pictures of the engine bay harness, but I'll try to explain it.