Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

i am a complete and utter newb about stereos

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2007, 10:20 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default i am a complete and utter newb about stereos

i have an 02 ta non monsoon system. id like to upgrade my head unit and speakers. im not looking for competetion(sp) just something that has a little bump to it. more or less im looking for some suggestions as far as head units and speakers. the head unit doesnt have to do anything fancy with the exception of having an ipod hookup(not to fancy anymore in my book). thanks.

edit im thinking about getting an mtx thunderform sub (amplified) just for some bass. just would like an opinion of this if you know anyone who has one or ever had one yourself.

Last edited by 96ta; 08-28-2007 at 10:40 AM.
Old 08-28-2007, 11:17 AM
Ungrounded Moderator

Received 260 Likes on 224 Posts

What makes you say it's a non-Monsoon system? My option list shows the 02 T/A came with Monsoon as standard equipment and that the base audio system was only available in V6 Firebirds that year.
Old 08-28-2007, 12:13 PM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by WhiteBird00
What makes you say it's a non-Monsoon system? My option list shows the 02 T/A came with Monsoon as standard equipment and that the base audio system was only available in V6 Firebirds that year.
my mom has an 02 ws6 and hers say on the actual headunit monsoon and mine does not....other than that i have no further evidence lol....like i said im a newb at this stuff

i also do not have tcs on mine either so it may have been ordered from the factory without these options....i dunno
Old 08-28-2007, 12:23 PM
On The Tree

As far as I know, a Monsoon system will have speakers in the hatch.
Old 08-28-2007, 12:38 PM
Ungrounded Moderator