Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Need to replace blown Camaro speakers for cheap

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 04:16 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need to replace blown Camaro speakers for cheap

OK, I'm a newbie here and I've read the threads on upgrading the speakers on the Monsoon system. I'm still not quite sure what I need to be looking for, and what's required to install them. Here's what I got:

2000 Camaro V6 Coupe w/ monsoon
- Passenger side front door speaker is blown
- Driver side back seat speaker is blown
- Rear deck speakers OK

I'm not sure how much longer I'm keeping this car, so I don't want to sink tons of $$$ into new speakers & receiver. I also have a 2002 SS (my baby) that seems to have a few speakers on their way out as well, so I'll be looking for probably a whole new system for that in a little while.

What's the cheapest way I can get decent sound from my 2000 Camaro? I've read that the front speakers are components, but I don't have to replace them with components, right? I don't know much about car speakers so I'm trying to avoid any complicated wiring if possible.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!!
Old 09-04-2007, 07:19 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Your best bet might be just to replace them with stock monsoon speakers. Would be the easiest to do, just plug-n-play.

I'm rewiring all of mine to standard 4 ohm speakers and such, completely bypassing the stock monsoon crap. But I'm an electronics nut and like doing stuff like that. Sounds like it isn't your thing.
Old 09-04-2007, 07:56 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

PM'd you with some options for the cheap!!
Old 09-09-2007, 03:03 PM
Teching In

I am in the same boat with my 2002 z28. My passenger side door speaker is blown and gives out a pleasant crackling noise at all times.

Kee, what was the info you PM'ed? I would appreciate it also.

Thanks!