Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Will an aftermarket HU work with the HUD?

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2007, 12:50 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will an aftermarket HU work with the HUD?

I just picked up an '07 GXP with the Monsoon system and would like to replace the head unit and speakers with something that sounds good. I've never worked on a car with a HUD before, and I LOVE the way the channel name appears on the HUD when I flip around so that I never have to look down.

So my question is, can you hook up an aftermarket head unit to work with the HUD? Are there kits out there, or will it be a jury-rigged solution? Any tips?

Thanks.
Old 10-02-2007, 01:32 PM
TECH Apprentice

I don't believe there are any adapters for the HUD to work with an aftermarket radio. I do think that the HUD will still function, but won't display the radio information. The adapters and parts to even put an aftermarket radio in a GM '07 vehicle are around $280 total.

There is a couple of other solutions though: the alpine PXE-H650, the rockford 3Sixty's, Kenwood's carportal, and a few others. They allow you to install amps to your system and will allow you to control your sound better.

Hope that helps.
Old 10-02-2007, 02:30 PM
Teching In

Hope that helps.
It does; thanks. Just not the answer I was hoping for.

How will the system sound with one of those other components you suggested? Honestly, I think it sounds terrible as is; almost impossible to listen to. It has very little bass when turned down, and when you turn it up it seems to almost eliminate the bass altogether while enhancing screechy frequencies that make your ears hurt before you even get it to a comfortable level. This appears to be on purpose; the Monsoon engineers apparently thought this made it sound better. Is there a way around that while keeping the stock HU, or am I kinda stuck?

Thanks.
Old 10-02-2007, 02:55 PM