Wiring, Stereo & Electronics Audio Components | Radars | Alarms - and things that spark when they shouldn't

Speaker Box In Back Seat

Old 09-14-2008, 10:00 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speaker Box In Back Seat

I might be looking at taking my back seat and replacing it with a speaker box for two 10"s and an amp. I'm VERY new to the stereo world because honestly it was something I NEVER EVER intended on doing to my car I have FAR more interest in performance however I've recently grown VERY tired of giving people rides in my backseat. I was thinking of the weight reduction gains aswell but as I own a convertible I dont' want the eye soar of an empty back portion without seats.

So is there anyone out there that makes a speaker box for our back seats or does it have to be custom made. Regardless if there is or not if there is anyone out there that has put a box there PLEASE post up some pics as I'm very interested in seeing some ideas.

Also I've heard the back seat weighs about 40lbs what would a well sized speaker box with two 10"s and an amp weigh in contrast... 60lbs? is there anyway to keep the weight down?
Old 09-14-2008, 11:03 PM
Banned

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Rear seat enclosure has to be fabricated. As far as I know I have never heard of a prefab enclosure for that location. You could always do a couple of 10" subs or even 12" subs with the amp mounted between them. Lots of ways you could do this.
As for weight issues, it will weigh a fair amount even if it's fiberglassed. The weight you will add back to the car will far out weigh the seats you take out.
Old 09-15-2008, 12:43 AM
TECH Apprentice

Originally Posted by KEE AUDIO
Rear seat enclosure has to be fabricated. As far as I know I have never heard of a prefab enclosure for that location. You could always do a couple of 10" subs or even 12" subs with the amp mounted between them. Lots of ways you could do this.