quad SRT10 vs F250 Lariat lol - LS1TECH



Street Racing & Kill Stories Basic Technical Questions & Advice

quad SRT10 vs F250 Lariat lol

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2012, 02:02 AM   #1
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default quad SRT10 vs F250 Lariat lol

Decided to have fun. SRT10 currently reflashed to stock tune, disconnected nitrous and meth.

F250 tuned.


Went from a dig. First run he goes full automatic, I pull about 3-4 cars.
Second run he decides to go manual mode (using shifter to go 1-2-3-4). He turns off traction control, spins, and I pull about 2 cars.
Last race with traction control on manual shifting only got half a car on him, he let it go deep into third, forgot to shift, hit 4500rpm and threw a piston lol.

Car sounds nasty as hell now with a piston eating up the head. Was blowing out brownish/white smoke. Nice car. No idea how my srt10 won though. Things pulling timing like crazy trying to not knock on 88 octane lol.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:24 AM   #2
Internet Technician
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Amsterdam Ny, the good part
Posts: 2,955
Default

gas or diesel f250
ramairetransam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:43 AM   #3
Teching In
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: chi-town
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramairetransam View Post
gas or diesel f250
they are both slow
1TFROT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 09:30 AM   #4
Internet Technician
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Amsterdam Ny, the good part
Posts: 2,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TFROT View Post
they are both slow
you must be sheltered , we have some fast diesels where i live.
ramairetransam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 09:39 AM   #5
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default

Diesel.

Mother ****** is a torque monster. Spews so much ******* smoke.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 09:39 AM   #6
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramairetransam View Post
you must be sheltered , we have some fast diesels where i live.
lol he has a duramax.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:34 AM   #7
Teching In
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: chi-town
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ramairetransam View Post
you must be sheltered , we have some fast diesels where i live.
lol, sheltered...no. my truck was tuned by a company who builds 1000hp trucks and is very good at it.

it takes a ton to make a ford diesel fast (not quite as much for the new ones).

I know what fast is and most ford diesels will not fall anywhere near that category. tons more fast duramaxes and cummins for sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSARME View Post
lol he has a duramax.
sucks about the piston thing no matter who it happened to. glad ya had some fun though

sweet SS btw

Last edited by 1TFROT; 06-05-2012 at 10:55 AM.
1TFROT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:57 AM   #8
TECH Fanatic
iTrader: (38)
 
Mike Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Md/PA/FL
Posts: 1,011
Default

Frot is right. The Ford is HEAVY no matter what year it is. And if its a 6.0/6.4 Diesel its a BIG POS too!
Mike Morris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 11:25 AM   #9
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TFROT View Post

sucks about the piston thing no matter who it happened to. glad ya had some fun though

sweet SS btw
He was too busy looking at speeds that he forgot to manual shift it from 3rd to 4th and he hit like 5k rpm. Thing just went kaboom.

Thanks man. Seems like a nasty truck you got there.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 04:04 PM   #10
TECH Enthusiast
 
wicked383lt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: En Casa del Carajo
Posts: 557
Default

What do srt-10 trucks do in 1/4?
wicked383lt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 04:18 PM   #11
Teching In
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: chi-town
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSARME View Post
He was too busy looking at speeds that he forgot to manual shift it from 3rd to 4th and he hit like 5k rpm. Thing just went kaboom.

Thanks man. Seems like a nasty truck you got there.

thanks as well. it's not quite nasty, but it'll hold it's own. haven't been to the track yet, but should be a solid high 12sec truck.

it'll beat my buddies '05 C5 (stock with man trans) not by much, but it will.
1TFROT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 05:17 PM   #12
10 Second Club
iTrader: (2)
 
ohioborn80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: columbus, ga
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wicked383lt1 View Post
What do srt-10 trucks do in 1/4?
Best I have seen is a chick running her stock one run 13.8.
ohioborn80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 06:25 PM   #13
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohioborn80 View Post
Best I have seen is a chick running her stock one run 13.8.
Anywhere from high 12 to low 14s. Quad cabs being mid 13s to low 14s because of the extra 500lbs (5600lbs). Single cabs being low-mid 13s with some high 12 runs. Impressive for trucks that weigh so ******* much.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:08 PM   #14
11 Second Club
iTrader: (3)
 
hugger1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 739
Default

Am I naive to self shifting mode in an auto?

Why wouldn't three be a safty built in to shift at some point during holding it too long?
hugger1975 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:26 PM   #15
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugger1975 View Post
Am I naive to self shifting mode in an auto?

Why wouldn't three be a safty built in to shift at some point during holding it too long?
Well redline was 5k if I remember and he got it pretty near. I guess these diesel 20+ compression engines and 40lbs of boost don't at high rpms????? I really don't know **** about diesel. Just know that particular ford block is fairly weak for what it should be.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 07:57 PM   #16
Teching In
 
1TFROT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: chi-town
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSARME View Post
Anywhere from high 12 to low 14s. Quad cabs being mid 13s to low 14s because of the extra 500lbs (5600lbs). Single cabs being low-mid 13s with some high 12 runs. Impressive for trucks that weigh so ******* much.

if it makes you feel any better, mine weighs about 7200#
lol she's a fat ***
1TFROT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:05 PM   #17
Staging Lane
Thread Starter
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: I'm a Moderator
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TFROT View Post
if it makes you feel any better, mine weighs about 7200#
lol she's a fat ***
lol holy ****! But you have diesel torque... I got.... Gasoline torque on 88 octane lol when the car requires 93. I got so much timing being pulled I bet. I'm putting in an octane booster today to see if it makes a difference.
2SSARME is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
10, 60, bolt, camaro, cammed, f250, fastest, kill, ls1, ram, s10, slow, srt, srt10, story, supercharged

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.