Street Racing & Kill Stories Basic Technical Questions & Advice

Old Guys Racin'

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2005, 11:49 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Old Guys Racin'

Old Guys Racin'
Look, I'm 42 and have decided that I’m officially an old guy. I have conceded that my next pair of glasses will be bi-focal, as opposed to the single vision glasses that I have been wearing for nearly 40 years now. Being a computer nerd also, I am glad to see two of my favorite interest joining together, computers and hot rods. And this has bred the popular Automotive Forum. Where wit and wisdom can be exchanged between youth and mature, novice and sage in a conversational format known as the post. I read these post and some of the things that are said never cease to amaze me. Now you guys in your 20's wont understand where I'm coming from, but hopefully the gray heads out there will.

I must preface what I am about to say by stating the following, I do not condone street racing of any kind. People licensed to drive on public roads should obey all traffic laws and posted traffic signs. With that said, drag racing starts from a standing start with either a flagman (or flag chick, which I prefer) or at a stoplight, not from a 20 mile per hour roll-on. And it continues for the prescribed distance of somewhere around a quarter mile. Measured by counting approximately five standard wood telephone poles. Where either a painted line or the headlights of a car parked perpendicular to the path of racing was parked. First to break the beam of light won. Straight up run what you brung drag racing. This is also something done away for other non-combatants out on a lonely stretch of road.