Street Racing & Kill Stories Basic Technical Questions & Advice

racing

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2005, 07:59 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default racing

hey everyone bare with me because im new to the street racing scene and all i was just wondering whats the best way to race an automatic from a dig and from a roll...should i just go straight to mashing the peddle all the way in or ease in or what not??

all answers are greatly appriciated
Old 11-24-2005, 10:18 PM
TECH Fanatic

With a stock stall I'd half throttle off the line till around second gear then mash into it on the first to second shift (30ish) from a dig. The roll race with an auto is tricky because you really only have certain points where you will be in the right power band for a downshift. Usually between 20-30mph is a good spot to mash into it and between 60 and 70 seems to a be half decent. It really depends on the gearing you got with the car and other junk but those are pretty close to the right areas. Watch out for those 40mph-50mph punches those are a dead zone in a stock auto. I think there might be some threads on this somewhere on here, I remember a few years back there were. Might try doing a search for them the mods might chime in and let you know if they're still back there somewhere. Good luck to ya.
Old 11-24-2005, 10:20 PM
TECH Fanatic

Then again ***** to the wall from a dig is always seems to work to if you can keep traction and keep it in a straight line.
Old 11-24-2005, 10:27 PM
Staging Lane

also is it bad for the tranny or the engine to mash the pedal... i know it can't be good for the car but sometimes i feel like it damages the car to do that...is it jus paranoya (sp) or does it hurt the car
Old 11-24-2005, 10:35 PM
TECH Fanatic